Gotham Knights : Release Date, Batman Death, Gameplay

Gotham Knights

Gotham Knights is an upcoming game developed by  WB Games Montréal and published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. It is an Action RPG game which revolves around DC’s Dark Knight supporting cast.

This game will be available on Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S. This game takes place in the Gotham city after the death of Batman featuring Robin, Batgirl, Nightwing, and Red Hood.

In order to restore Gotham city, they all need to work together to insure peace in the city. Each character have their own unique play style and abilities. You can play coop with your friend, and the other player leaving the game doesn’t affect your progress.

Batman Death

Gotham Knights batman death

In the trailer, we see Batgirl and Nightwing approach a long forgotten underground ruin. In front of them, we see two large statues of owls. The court of owls is making an appearance in Gotham Knights. In the end, we hear a rhyme heralding the court of owl.

The inclusion of the quarterback seems to indicate that they may have had a hand in Bruce Wayne’s untimely death, as their comic storyline began with the attempted assassination of Bruce, but whether this means batman faked his death or not remains to be seen.

No one talks about the owls and if you dare to say a word the town strikes. The court of owl uses reanimated assassin’s known as Talons to do their dirty work. It’s told that the mystery in Gotham knights is much bigger than the court of owls.


Key Features

  • There are four playable characters : Batgirl, Nightwing, Red Hood and Robin.
  • The Batcave is gone, and in its place is the Belfry.
  • Gotham Knights features new original game story.
  • The court of owls is most likely to be a main part of the story.
  • Mr. Freeze is one of the villains among various other villains.
  • Gotham Knights has a drop-in, drop-out co-op.
  • Each character has a separate skill tree.

Combat System

Gotham Knights boss

Each character has a level based upgrade system, as we see player and enemy both have a level progression above them. This means that the mission’s difficulty will be based on the level you have obtained through your in game progress.

The Damage are shown in pop up numbers. Now you can clearly see the amount of damage you inflict on your enemies. The damage color also defines how powerful an attack was. This also helps to determine what type of weapon and style inflict more damage.

Each character have their unique set of weapons and with these weapons comes a unique set of abilities and skills. Like Robin using Justice League satellite to teleport and Batgirl uses her ability in which a bunch of bats comes out and distract enemies.

Below your health bar is a blue bar which tells you about the limit you can use your ability. Using abilities causes this blue bar to deplete, and this bar regenerates automatically.

Release Date

The Game has been pushed back until 2022 a couple of months ago, and after that we haven’t heard much from the game. There is no news on how far the development reached, but the gameplay shows us how far this game has reached really.

Subscribe to our newsletter to get daily updates on gaming and tech news.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments